Buttermilk crepe/panckakes

Food soundtrack: Alive by Goldfrapp

There is no time a day where pancakes/crepes is not a suitable meal. I can easily have pancakes for breakfast, lunch, dinner or as a night-time snack.  Not to mention those days when I am sick in bed with no particular desire for anything, the greatest medicine to me is always pancakes.

Depending on where you are from in the world, like in America pancakes usually are the thick kind made with baking powder and the kind you see in the cartoons with maple syrup. In Norway where I grew up, pancakes are more crepe like.  So not to confuse anyone, when I talk about pancakes I mean those thin crepe like ones.  There is a great scene from Talladega nights about that discussion.

When it comes to the topping I am not hard to please.  I am quite happy sprinkling my crepes with sugar and then squeeze on some lemon or lime juice, simply divine.    Norwegian brown cheese is one of my personal comforts, which of course is an acquired taste if you are not used to it.  So many choices, be it savory or sweet, love options.

What I made for breakfast this morning is somewhat of strange combination but just works so well together.

I love crepes with raspberry jam and a dollop of creme fraiche or sour cream.  I know it sounds strange, but the combination of the berry, cream and then the crepe it just works so well.  This is not unusual for Scandinavians, where since the old days we have served waffles topped with cloudberry jam and sour cream as dessert.  I found it works just as well with pancakes.  Also since it is breakfast, turkey bacon on the side makes a great savory addition giving your palette a taste of sour, sweet, salt all together.

For my buttermilk crepe/pancakes

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup butter milk
  • 1/2 cup milk ( you can skip the butter milk all together and use 1 cup milk, but I like the taste the buttermilk gives)
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp melted butter
  • pinch of salt

Mix all of the above together in a bowl. You want the mixture to be very runny and not too thick.  When done, heat up a frying pan with some butter and pour in a batch using a ladle then evenly spread it out in the pan.  Flip the crepe when the batch looks dry.

This entry was posted in breakfast, comfort food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Buttermilk crepe/panckakes

  1. Finny says:

    looking good! yummm…

  2. EatBlogSleep says:

    YUMMY !!!! Mother Michelina, you are awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

