Cinnamon swirls

Food soundtrack: Sweet little mystery by Wet Wet Wet

I once read in one of those domestic goddesses books how a trick every woman should do when a man picks her up on a date, is have her house smell of cinnamon.  Apparently it awakens some sort of comfort sense in the man and he will see you as wife material, something along those lines.

Now, I don’t really agree on that, it’s quite old-fashioned thinking for me, but I can agree on that coming home and opening the door to be met by the aroma of fresh-baked cinnamon takes me to a happy place.  Instant happiness.

The days I lived in Oslo there was a little bakery down the street that sold these humongous cinnamon swirls I would get one on my way to work.                               Breaking off  the swirl where the trail starts and working myself into the middle where treasured caramel goo awaits. Mmmm childish pleasures.  I wish I knew how to make those big fluffy ones but I easily settle for my version which tastes just as yummy.  Its your choice if you want to have the creamy frosting on, I just love the gooiness combined together.

Now whenever I make baked dessert goods, I always use cardamom spice.  Very popular in Scandinavian baking.  If you never tried, please do, you will see how it enhances the taste of the dough instantly.

For the dough.

  • 125 g butter
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 50 g of fresh yeast or 7 g sachet of dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 800g all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cardamom spice

For the filling

  • 1/4 cup softened butter
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar mixed with 1/3 white sugar
  • 2 1/2 tbsp cinnamon

For the frosting

  • 1/4 cup softened butter
  • 1 pack of cream cheese ( I don’t use the whole pack, I leave about 1/4)
  • 1 cup of icing sugar
  • lemon juice
  • vanilla extract

How to:

1. Heat some of the milk ( not too hot) and add the dry yeast and let it set for about 5-10 minutes in the mixing bowl

2. Melt butter and add milk and let it heat to about 37 degrees. So lukewarm.  Add the milk mixture to the bowl.

3. Start incorporating the sugar, flour and cardamom.  I use a hollow spoon as I stir around in the bowl.  Dont add all the flour, add gradually till you got yourself a decent dough. Eventually use your hands kneading the dough til it doesn’t stick to your fingers.

4. Cover the bowl with plastic/cloth and set aside for 40 minutes. Preferably in a warm place.

5. Blend together the cinnamon sugar and butter mix.

6. When dough is ready, knead the dough and with a rolling-pin make a rectangular shape. About 35 x60 cm and 1/2 cm thick.

7. Spread on the butter sugar mix, generously and evenly all over.

8. Roll the dough from top to bottom or vice versa making a sausage shape.  “Glue” the edge in with some water.  Cut into 2 cm thick pieces.  Put the swirls facing up on a greased plate, cover and set aside for 40 minutes.

9. Blend together your frosting mix

10. Beat an egg in a cup and brush on each of the swirls for glossyness. Place the swirls in the oven for 10-12 minutes at 250 degrees celsius/ 480 fahrenheit.

11. When done let them cool down a bit before you take dollops of the frosting on top.

ENJOY!!!

This entry was posted in Baked goods, sweet yum. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cinnamon swirls

  1. EatBlogSleep says:

    Looks sooooo good! Have never tried with cardamom spice – I usually use nutmeg & cinnamon. Will definitely give the cardamom a go next time I make mine though. xx

  2. Mother Michelina says:

    Oh yes, do try. Its amazing what it does, it smells so nice and adds just this unique flavor. All Scandinavian cook books use cardamom. It is such a overseen spice. I cant find it in Bangkok, so I bought my cardamom from Norway,

  3. Nirvana says:

    Wow! These look fab! I love cinnamon in baking. Cardamon is used a lot in Indian sweets as well. Gotta try these some time soon!

  4. Frank says:

    I just baked the cinnamon swirls, they are absolutely gorgeous. We tried another recipe earlier today, it was a disaster. But these ones….fantastic.

  5. Pingback: Norwegian skolebrød | Mother Michelina´s Kitchen

Leave a Reply

