Salmon cutlets with sour cream gravy and cucumber salad

Food soundtrack: Morning mood from Peer Gynt by Edward Grieg

Todays dinner takes me to the beautiful scenery of Norwegian mountains.

Born and raised in Norway I have been fortunate to, in my mind, grown up eating the best seafood in the world.  Truly fresh Norwegian salmon, and I mean straight from the lake is a culinary experience I wish more people could endure.

Not to mention our crayfish, crab, salted shrimp, fish cakes…mmm all so yum.  Our love of cooking seafood with dill is a signature staple for Norwegians.  Oh, and lets not forget my favorite meal in the whole wide world, which is rakafisk, fermented trout.  I will have to write about that another time.

I grew up fishing with my father and to be honest I started out like most kids, not liking fish.  It was not until when I caught my first freshwater brown trout while holidaying in our mountain cabin that I started to appreciate fish.  What my mom did with it was the most old school traditional way Norwegians have been doing for ages.  This is a dish many people cook while hiking in middle of the mountains.

So super easy, fry the fish in a pan and add sour cream.

This works for salmon and trout and it just tastes so good and it so easy to make.  It’s perfect for those weekday nights when you are super tired and want to make a quick easy dinner.

I also like to make my cucumber salad, another Norwegian tradition, this is perfect as a side dish to any fish as the sweet vinaigrette freshens up the meal.

For 2 people.

  • Potatoes (as many as you can at)
  • 2 salmon fillets or trout
  • a tub of sour cream
  • freshly chopped chives.
  • Butter for frying

For the cucumber salad

  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 3/4 cup water (hot)
  • 2 tbsp vinegar
  • 2-3 tbsp sugar (You will have to taste yourself, but you want the mix sweet and sour)
  • salt&pepper to taste.

1. I make the cucumber salad ahead of time because this is best served cold.  I cut super thin slices of the cucumber in a bowl. I sprinkle with some salt and let it set for 5 minutes.

2. Mix together hot water, vinegar and sugar. Pour over the cucumbers. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and set in fridge to cool down.

3.Boil potatoes.

4. Heat the butter in a frying pan and add the salmon fillet. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Let it cook approx. 3 minutes on each side.

5. When done and salmon is removed from frying pan add the sour cream and stir.  Add the chives and some pepper.  You want the sour cream to become gravy like, it wont take more that 30-40 seconds in a heated pan.

6. Serve the fillets with boiled potatoes, pour over the sour cream gravy and add some cucumber salad on the plate.

Simple and delish.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Seafood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salmon cutlets with sour cream gravy and cucumber salad

  1. EatBlogSleep says:

    I love salmon. I love potatoes. I love sour cream. I love cucumbers. Sooooo need to try this ASAP!

Leave a Reply

