Shrimp flambé in brandy cream

Food Soundtrack: Light my fire by The Doors

My dad gave me a new camera, a Nikon d300, a fantastic camera but much more advanced than my trusty d70s.  I am still learning how to use it so my pictures might suffer a bit as I learn how to master it.

Anyway, todays recipe is inspired by my morning co-host on the radio, Hugh, and I must say it the most exquisite, rich and easy recipe.  I made a few alterations but I promise if you want to impress or have dinner guests coming over this dish will do it.  Plus flambé food is so much fun.  This dish can be made with lobster, chicken or pork. I used shrimp and some left over scallops I had.  It is the same base of making a bisque, but I serve with sautéed potatoes instead of making a soup out of it.

You will need to serve 2.

  • 8 fresh peeled tiger prawns
  • 4 scallops
  • 2 large potatoes, sliced and boiled
  • 2 shallots minced
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 1/4 cup of brandy
  • 1/3 cup of cream
  • 1 tbsp of chopped scallions
  • 1 cup of mushrooms chopped into cubes
  • butter and olive oil

1. Saute the shallot and garlic in a frying pan with olive oil and a generous amount of butter over high heat.

2. Add the shrimp and scallops.  It takes about 30-45 second to cook on each side.

3. Add the mushrooms and stir around let it saute for about a minute.

4. Remove the pan from the heat and add the brandy. Place back on heat and tip the pan so it catches fire from the stove or use match/lighter to set the brandy on fire.  While it flambés shake the pan so everything mixes as the fire goes out add the cream and stir well.  Add the freshly chopped scallions/chives and you are ready to serve

5. In a separate pan heat with butter and quickly saute the boiled potato slices, sprinkle salt and pepper to taste.

It will make your kitchen smell like a 5 star restaurant.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Seafood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shrimp flambé in brandy cream

  1. C says:

    I must try this recipe. I hope I don’t burn my eyebrows in the process!

Leave a Reply

