Piadina tricolore

Food soundtrack: Thats amore by Dean Martin

To me one of life’s simple food pleasures is any kind of thin doughy bread filled with hidden treasures like meat, cheese or whatever sauce.  I am a big fan of any meal that comes wrapped in a tortilla or pita bread.  I thought I knew what a kebab was, that was until I went on a kebab bender in Istanbul. . .I still sit here 3 months later dreaming of the simplicity of the tasty lamb and the light fluffy pita bread.

Divine.

I recently discovered what I like to call the Italian version of the tortilla and it is just marvelous.  Piada or piadina is Italian flatbread, was served to me with San Daniele ham, rocket salad and my favorite thing in the world  . . . mascarpone cheese.

So simple and light, yet so many flavors at once, a perfect quick fill for lunch or any canape.

Making the piada could not be more simple

you will need

  • 500 grams of type o flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 50 gr lard or shortening. could also substitute with 5 tbsp olive oil (I like to mix the lard and oil)
  • 80 oz of lukewarm milk (or water)

1. In a big bowl mix all the dry ingredients, create a hollow crater in the middle where you pour in oil and lard. With a spoon blend well together

2. Gradually add the milk ( you don’t need to use all if it) you want to work it into a smooth dough.

3. Roll the dough out to a sausage shape and cut up small pieces.  With a rolling-pin start rolling the dough into a flat circular shape.  I like to use a saucepan lid to cut perfect circles out of the dough.

4. On a non stick frying pan on high heat place the round flat dough in the pan, if it starts to bubble up, flatten it down with a spatula.  Flip side when dark little spots starts to appear.

5. I take 2 finished piada flatbread and place some ham, rocket and mascarpone cheese on top before I place another piada on top. I quickly return it to the heat just to let the cheese melt and heat up a bit before I cut it in half and enjoy it.

This entry was posted in canapé, Lunch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Piadina tricolore

  1. elenasc says:

    Oh yeah! You’re right! This is really good, especially if made with right ingredients! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

