Thai red chicken curry with bamboo

Food soundtrack: Red Light Special by TLC

When you live in Thailand, you don’t need to cook Thai food.  I have gotten some questions on why I don’t cook more Thai food on my blog, being part Thai and living here and all.  Truth is, I just walk out the door and I can have the most delicious and cheap Thai food I could ever ask for.

People here spend their whole lives just making one dish day in day out, I go to those places.  Also it is one of those situations where, when I live in Bangkok I want European food, when I lived in Oslo, all I wanted was Thai food.

Today I made a curry, curries can be tricky with flavoring and you just got to taste through, but they are not hard to make.  I added some pineapple and cherry tomatoes in my curry just to add some sweetness to it and contradict with the spiciness. Curries is a very sexy dish, it is filled with mystery, spice and heat.  It can be very overwhelming if you don’t eat spicy food, so I advice to just use less of the curry paste and experiment.

To me a curry taste the best the day after or several hours after cooking, that’s when flavours really start to come out.  So do make this ahead of time for optimal results.

  • 2 tbsp Thai red curry paste
  • 1 large chicken fillet cut into small pieces
  • 1 can of coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 can of bamboo (sliced)
  • 3/4 cup of holy basil leaves
  • 4 kaffir lime leaves
  • 5 cherry tomatoes halved
  • 2-3 tinned pineapple rings, diced
  • 1 1/2 tbsp palm sugar or normal white sugar

1. Boil some water, remove from heat, add bamboo and let it sit for about 10 minutes before you drain

2. Bring 1/2 a cup of the coconut milk to a boil, then add the curry paste.  Stir well, let it simmer for about 10 minutes or so untill you see oil starting to break on the surface.

3. Add the chicken, stir well and let the chicken cook. When chicken is cooked, gradually stir in the remaining coconut milk.  Stir in palm sugar and fish sauce.

4. Add the bamboo, lime leaves and holy basil. Now let the curry really simmer a good while.  Add the pineapple and tomatoes.

Taste as you go. NOTE. You can also add red chillies right into the curry pot.  Also adding water if you want to thin it out a bit.

Personally I like to let it simmer for a good 45 minutes, then let it rest, but that’s just me. You can eat it straight away of course.

This entry was posted in Dinner, poultry, Thai and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thai red chicken curry with bamboo

  1. EatBlogSleep says:

    So true! I didn’t start cooking Thai food until I left Bangkok and that was mainly out of necessity. This looks scrumptious 🙂

  2. Paula says:

    Hahaha, I read that thinking surely when you’re in Thailand it’s not “Thai food”, it’s just “food”! 🙂

    The curry looks delicious though!

Leave a Reply

