Tart Michelina

Post soundtrack: Anyway that you want me by Evie Sands

Some people say tart means lady of the night, some say its a nubile young temptress, who dresses teasingly and provocatively.  To me I would say tart is a tease full of  pleasant surprises. It has no bad connotation in my book.

What I love about a great tart is really you can put anything in it (maybe that is where the prostitution similarity comes in) A tart can be sweet filled with fruits as well as savory.

Now I prefer my tarts to have this country rustic look instead of using those perfect pie tins. I prefer wrapping them in a bit so I can have more crust to eat.  This tart is filled with 3 different cheeses plus some juicy tomatoes, bacon, leeks and mushrooms.

This recipe makes two, I take one half in a zip lock and leave it in the freezer

Tarts

  • 2 – 2.5 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup cold water

Filling

  • 2 ripe tomatoes
  • 3 rashers bacon (diced)
  • 1/2 cup mushroom
  • 1/3 diced leek ( I gently saute the mushroom and leek together before I fill the tart)
  • 3 lumps of goats cheese
  • 3 – 4 oz Ricotta cheese
  • torn Chevre bits

Tart

1. mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl before adding chopped bits of butter. Mix with hands or pastry blender. Add water and work it to a nice smooth dough

2. Wrap up tight in clear plastic and let it chill at least 20 minutes in a fridge.

3, When ready, cut the dough in half. This makes 2 tarts. Roll the dough with rolling-pin (my trick is I use clear plastic wrap on top of dough then use the rolling-pin on top of that ) till its think and round shape.

4. Place on pie tin with edges hanging out

5. Now start layering the tart with the cheese, tomatoes, bacon, mushroom and leeks

6. Fold the edges over the tart so it covers most of it but  you want a hole in the middle. Bake in oven for 20-30 minutes (till you see the tart has turned a nice golden color.) in 190 degrees.

Let it rest a few minutes before you start cutting in.  Drizzle over olive or truffle oil is optional when you serve.

This entry was posted in brunch, Lunch. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tart Michelina

  1. Felicia says:

    YUM! Definitely going to try this one…not a lot of ingredients and looks easy! Right up my alley.

Leave a Reply

