Asian beef salad

Food soundtrack: You by Gold Panda

This recipe is fully inspired by Nigella Lawson, my food idol.  A woman who loves food, is not a chef, but still made a career making food to the people.    I believe we are long-lost sisters, here is a woman who loves butter, cream and all things “naughty” when it comes to food.  She doesn’t hold back and I love it.

I saw her recipe on Asian lamb salad.  As the name suggests it calls for lamb, but lamb fillets is a bit pricy here in Bangkok so I opted for a nice beef tenderloin and substituted red currant jelly with cranberry jelly.  Plus I added some honey to the dressing, because I will if possible find a way to put honey on everything.  This salad is refreshing, filling and perfect for lunch or dinner, pot luck or even a picnic.

you will need

  • Beef tenderloin
  • olive oil
  • salt/ pepper
  • mixed salad leaves
  • chopped mint

Dressing

  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2-3 spoonful scoops of cranberry jelly (torn/chopped)
  • pepper
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 spring onion chopped
  • optional. dry chilli flakes for heat

1. Season the tenderloin with salt and pepper then let it sear approx 5 minutes on each side on medium heat.  Pack it up in aluminum foil while it cools

2. In a bowl whisk together all the dressing ingredients.

3. When meat has cooled down a bit, finely slice it and add to dressing mixture. Before mixing it with salad leaves and finally adding the chopped mint for garnish.

This entry was posted in Dinner, greens, Lunch, Meat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Asian beef salad

  1. Thanks for the helpful post! I would not have gotten this otherwise!

  2. simple & delish. i’ve never paired fresh mint w/ beef before, but it sounds yummy. can’t wait to try out this recipe – thanks for sharing!

  3. rsmacaalay says:

    I agree you dont have to be a chef to make good food! I like Nigella as well, specially how she delivers her show, you feel always that the food is so delicious. I love that salad simple yet yummy!

  4. Life expectancy would grow by leaps and bounds if green vegetables smelled as good as bacon. ~Doug Larson

  5. Pingback: Asian beef salad (via Mother Michelina´s Kitchen) | My Grandparent's Kitchen

  6. to assist increase the lives of folks in this topic materials. Via your current articles,

  7. A powerful share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing just a little evaluation on this. And he in actual fact bought me breakfast as a result of I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading extra on this topic. If attainable, as you grow to be experience, would you thoughts updating your weblog with more details? It’s highly useful for me. Massive thumb up for this weblog post!

  8. It frequently amazes me just how Blog writers for example your self can find the time as well as the commitment to keep on Writing remarkable posts your site is superb and one of my own need to read blogs, I had been more than amazed with the blog post I simply wanted to thank you and congratulations

  9. Following I noticed the motion picture, I had to look at the dish and above the decades I have hopefully enhanced on the unique recipe I identified.
    Mexican oven fried chicken – add a teaspoon of chili
    powder (combine it with cayenne for an extra kick.
    Place 1-2 pieces of chicken at a time in the Ziploc bag containing the crunchy coating mix
    and shake until the chicken is well coated.

Leave a Reply

